Different areas of family law

Different areas of family law

- in News
Comments Off on Different areas of family law

Image result for Different,areas,of,family,law

People commonly associate only divorce as the area of family law. It is true but the family law is not limited to the divorce only. This is the reason people should consult to the lawyers specializing in this field. They will enlighten you with the various other areas of family law which are-

  1. Adoption

Unless you plan on to adopt from the state’s child welfare services, chances are that you will need to hire an attorney. There are several steps a person needs to follow before the process of adoption can be said to be complete. Only a specially trained person in this area can help you in adoption. This individual will ensure that all your paperwork is completed and filed properly so that you can add a member to your family. If you are a step-parent who wishes to adopt his step-child then the process will differ.

In India in Hindu law any person who is of sound mind and has completed 21 years of age can adopt a child.

  1. Name change

Another area of family law is name change. While the courthouse office that issues marriage licenses can easily guide you through the process of changing your last name after marriage, there is not a lot of information on how to change it any other time. There exist many reasons why a person may want to change his name legally. Always remember that you can call yourself whatever you want but, government won’t recognize you by that name unless all the paperwork has been done according to the law in force.

  1. Restraining orders

Many a times you may find yourself in a situation where you are in a need of legal protection against a former lover or a family member. You can do this through a protection order, commonly known as restraining order. It is easy to get a temporary order by going to the courthouse. However, what is difficult is to make that order permanent. The judge will hear all the sides of the case and then may only extend the protection from 6 months to a year. Only a person who is specialized and has experience in this area can help you in this regard.

  1. Pre- marital agreements

Pre- marital agreements are not only limited to the rich class to protect their assets. On the contrary, they can be drawn up and entered into by anyone who has stipulations on the marriage. Mainly, the ultimate goal of pre-marital agreement is to prevent one spouse from taking too much money from the other spouse in the event of a divorce. However other things which can be included are- how the property is to be divided, reasons for ending the marriage etc.

  1. Custody arrangements

This is one of the most important areas of family law. Divorce is hard on everyone, but it is hardest on the kids as they are used to having their parents under one roof. A specialized attorney can help you and your former spouse sort out what is best not just for you but for kids as well.